The Home Base Iowa Act

HOME BASE IOWA ACT

The Home Base Iowa (HBI) Act positions Iowa as the leader in respect, support and employment for veterans. Passed by the Iowa Legislature in a broad bi-partisan manner and signed by Governor Branstad on Memorial Day, May 26, 2014, the Home Base Iowa Act contains the following provisions:

Military Pension Income Tax Exemption
The Home Base Iowa Act fully exempts military pensions from state income tax.

Permissive Veterans Preference
The State of Iowa and its subdivisions provide veterans preferential treatment in hiring decisions. The Home Base Iowa Act clarifies that it is legal for private businesses to do so as well.

Military Homeownership Assistance Program
This one time use grant program offers up to $5,000 to eligible veterans through the Iowa Finance Authority program for the down payment or closing costs of a home, learn more. This program can be combined with other programs for up to $7,500 in resources.

Education
The Home Base Iowa Act grants automatic in-state tuition to veterans, their spouses, and their dependents. The State Board of Education is working toward shaping policy for awarding educational credit for skills and training obtained through military service. An education task force comprised of representatives from Iowa’s community colleges, Regents universities, private colleges and universities, and the military and veteran communities are developing policies for the consistent awarding of academic credit for military training and experience.

Occupational Licensure
Veterans are some of the most highly-trained and highly-skilled individuals in the world. The HBI Act directs each of Iowa's occupational licensing boards to adopt rules allowing credit for military training and experience in the licensing process. Further, each board must outline how those licensure restrictions may be eased for spouses of military members and veterans.

 

License Plates
This component allows eligible applicants to be issued veterans-related license plates such as Purple Heart, Bronze Star or other applicable designated plates at no charge. Veterans will continue to pay applicable vehicle registration fees.